Archives and Special Collections

The Averett University Archives is located in Room 303 on the upper floor of Mary B. Blount Library.

Who may access the collection?

Averett faculty, staff, and students may simply schedule an appointment.  Bring your Averett ID card if you aren't attending as part of a class group.

Visitors unaffiliated with Averett may access the archives as long as they fill out a contact information form, and sign the usage policy statement during their first visit.  Thereafter, photo ID is sufficient.

Any researcher who fails to abide by the usage policies of the archives will be denied further access to archival materials.

Access to non-restricted materials is otherwise provided on equal terms to all researchers who abide by the rules and procedures of the Archives.  Privileged or exclusive use of material will not be granted to any single person or group

When may the collection be accessed?

The Archives is a "closed" collection. Anyone wishing access to archival materials must make an appointment, in advance, with the University archivist.  Provided the archivist does not have a schedule conflict, appointments can generally be made for between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm on weekdays.

Where may the collection be accessed?

Materials in the Archives are for use in the archives only.  Nothing is allowed to be checked out or otherwise removed from the archives reading room.

Prior to your visit:

1. Schedule your appointment
2. Provide as much information as possible about the subject of your research and/or the materials you wish to view.  In many cases, the archivist must retrieve materials in advance.
   • If you know exactly what you wish to see, please email a completed request slip prior to your visit.  (See below.)

Arrival:

1. Present Averett ID or other photo ID to the archivist and sign-in
2. Unpack pencils, paper, laptops, and cellphone and place in your chosen workspace; leave everything else with the archivist for safekeeping.
   • If coats or bags are wet from rain/snow, please leave them on the chairs outside the archives door.
3. Be sure hands are clean and dry
4. No food or drink allowed in the archives

Handling Materials:

1. All materials must be used within the designating reading space within the archives
   • Do not leave materials unattended; if you need to step out, let the archivist know
2. Remove only one folder at a time and keep all materials in the order in which they are found
   • If items appear to be misfiled, notify the archivist; do not re-sort them yourself
3. Use only pencils; no pens or markers
4. Mark pages only with flat slips of paper; do not use paperclips, sticky notes, or 'dog ear' pages
5. Take care when turning or flipping pages in order to avoid paper tears
6. Snap as many digital photos as you wish, but photocopying is only to be performed by the archivist

Departure:

1. Store and return all borrowed items
2. Confirm the archivist's record of time spent and materials used
3. Sign out

The fact that Averett's archives hold a copy of an item, does not mean that Averett holds copyright on that item.  Researchers are responsible for obtaining all copyright clearances if archival material is used in publications.

If Averett University clearly owns the copyright on an item - or the item is old enough to be in the public domain - and professional reproduction is desired, please consult the archivist.