Archives and Special Collections
The Averett Archives and Special Collection hold numerous volumes for local genealogical research, including
- Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of VA Land Patents and Grants, 1623-1666Call Number: F 225 .N842 1983
- The Compendium of American GenealogyCall Number: CS69 .A27 1987
- Danville, VA, City DirectoryCall Number: F 234.D1 A18
- Encyclopedia of American Quaker GenealogyCall Number: BX 7791 .H56 1991
- Encyclopedia of Virginia BiographyCall Number: F225 .T97
- Genealogies of Virginia FamilesCall Number: F 225 .G468 1982
- The Hornbook of Virginia History: A Ready-Reference Guide to the Old Dominion's People, Places, and PastCall Number: F 226 .H8 1994
- The Virginia GenealogistCall Number: F 221 .V79
- Virginia Genealogy: Sources & Resources byCall Number: F 225 .M38 1993
- Virginia Land RecordsCall Number: F225 .V875 1982
- Virginia Marriage RecordsCall Number: F225 .V883 1982
...and many, many others.
Click here for our complete list of local genealogy books. (Click "Advanced Search" to search within these results.)
Although these books cannot be checked out and removed from the library, the vast majority are publicly accessible, shelved right outside the Archives' door, and may be consulted in the library at any time during normal business hours.
Those volumes housed within the archives (most notably the City Directories) will require an appointment with the archivist for access and research.
The archives also has microfilm copies of the Richmond Times-Dispatch newspaper from 27 January 1903 to 31 December 1990. This is an excellent resource for 20th century Virginia history in general. To consult the microfilm (which is currently in storage), please schedule a research visit at least 48 hours in advance. Remember to mention that you would like to use the Richmond Times-Dispatch microfilm, and include a date range for the material you would like to view.