Archives and Special Collections
The Averett Collection accounts for the bulk of the archival holdings of Averett University, and consists of official publications, memoranda, correspondence, photographs, artifacts, and many other items related to the University. Some material of a sensitive nature is restricted and not open to researchers.
Below you will find a list of some of the more prominent Averett-related publications held by the archives. Below that are finding aids for the various record groups in the collection. Keep in mind, however, that not everything housed in the Averett archives is referenced on this page.
Printed Histories of Averett University available both in the Archives and the reference collection
- LD271.A83 H384 2004: The Lamp and the Cross: A History of Averett College, 1859-2001 by former Averett History Professor Jack I. Hayes, Jr.
- LD 293 .H39x: A History of Averett College also by Jack I. Hayes, Jr. (an earlier edition of The Lamp and the Cross)
- LD 293 .G7: A History of Averett College by former Averett Instructor of Religion, Psychology, and Sociology, David Wesley Gray (a Masters Thesis from 1960)
- A digital copy of Gray's thesis is available directly from the University of Richmond.
Selected University Publications held by the Archives
- Echoes: the yearbook for the years prior to 1923; miscellaneous issues available in the Archives
- The Pendulum: The Averett College yearbook, 1923-1990; available in the archives, and in 16 bound volumes in the reference collection
- Averett College Catalog: 1867-2010 available in the archives; 1966-2006 available in 8 bound volumes in the reference collection
- The Chanticleer: student newspaper / news magazine published from December 1922 to present
- Averett Journal: journal of faculty essays published irregularly between 1970 and 2015
- The Ember: student arts journal published from 1966 to present
- Potpourri: alumni newsletter published from 1971-1995
Finding Aids for the Averett Collection
In order to keep this list down to a manageable size, the files below are bulk finding aids covering entire record groups. Some are, therefore, extremely lengthy.
Represented here are complete finding aids for all catalogued material in the Averett Collection except: RG 48 ("Photographs"), and RG 50 ("Artifacts"). These two record groups do not have have functioning finding aids at present, although the archivist is happy to help locate material which may be found within them.
- RG 1 - Board of TrusteesContainer list for biographical and other material related to the Board of Trustees
- RG 2 - Office of the PresidentContainer lists for archived files from Presidents C.F. James, Curtis Bishop, Conwell Anderson, Howard Lee, Frank Campbell, and Richard Pfau.
- RG 3 - Administrative Associate to the PresidentContainer list for 1980s files from the office of Clint Hopkins, in a position focused primarily on denominational relations
- RG 4 - Office of the DeanContainer list for material deposited by the Dean / VPAA's office, or by offices under its oversight
- RG 5 - Office of the Vice President for Institutional AdvancementContainer list for materials from the offices of Institutional Advancement, News & Information, and Admissions
- RG 6 - Dean of Student DevelopmentContainer list for material deposited by the Dean of Students' office, or published under the Dean's oversight
- RG 7 - Office of the Business ManagerContainer list for correspondence and files regarding Averett's buildings and grounds
- RG 8 - Office of the LibrarianContainer list for all files, memos, and correspondence relating to library operations
- RG 10 - Faculty and StaffContainer list for archived material relating to faculty and staff affairs
- RG 11 - Student OrganizationsContainer list for archived materials from misc. student organizations, 1913-2018
- RG 12 - Departments and DivisionsContainer list for archival material related to individual departments, programs, or faculty members
- RG 45 - History of AverettContainer list for RG 45, primarily consisting of pld research projects by Averett archivists
- RG 47 - ProgramsContainer list for archived event programs and related material
- RG 49 - Student and Alumni PapersFinding aid for paper materials related to former Averett students