Modern Middle East Research Guide

This two-volume reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.

"Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire" provides a thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with approximately 450 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms. With signed articles by experts in the field, this comprehensive one-volume resource also includes essential information regarding imperialism and the emerging Balkan, Arab, and Turkish nationalism; the demise of the empire; and Ottoman legacy in the Balkans and the Middle East. Further readings, approximately 80 black-and-white photographs and maps, cross-references, a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and an index complement the text and give readers an in-depth understanding of the broad and fascinating history of the Ottoman Empire.

Ira Lapidus' history explores the beginnings and transformations of Islamic civilizations in the Middle East and details Islam's worldwide diffusion. The history is divided into four parts. Part I is a comprehensive account of pre-Islamic late antiquity; the beginnings of Islam; the early Islamic empires; and Islamic religious, artistic, legal and intellectual cultures. Part II deals with the construction in the Middle East of Islamic religious communities and states to the fifteenth century. Part III includes the history to the nineteenth century of Islamic North Africa and Spain; the Ottoman, Safavid and Mughal empires; and other Islamic societies in Asia and Africa. Part IV accounts for the impact of European commercial and imperial domination on Islamic societies and traces the development of the modern national state system and the simultaneous Islamic revival from the early nineteenth century to the present.

Understanding Islam and the people who believe in it has become crucially important in the greater world. The 3-volume "The Islamic World: Past and Present" is the ideal source for fostering understanding and answering questions. Containing more than 300 articles, it provides an excellent, comprehensive resource for gaining understanding into a belief system that seems mysterious and incomprehensible to many. (Also available as an eBook.)

This primary-source rich volume offers researchers an invaluable look into the key events that have shaped this dynamic region since World War I. Organized into thematic chapters, and loaded with both full-text and excerpted primary source documents, The Contemporary Middle East is designed to be an accessible support for courses in Middle Eastern history, international affairs, and comparative politics.

This new and updated second edition includes 35 all new entries, including Afghanistan, Al-Aqsa Mosque, Bin Laden, Abdallah Ibn Hussein, Islamic Movements, Northern Alliance, Palestine/Palestinian Territories, Qa-ida Organization, Edward Said, and Western Wall. In addition, dozens of entries are updated from the first edition to reflect the myriad changes in the Middle East and surrounding nations.

This atlas provides accessible, concisely written entries on the most important current issues in the Middle East, combining maps with their geopolitical background. Providing a clear context for analysis of key concerns, it includes background topics, the position of the Middle East in the world and profiles of the constituent countries. Features include: clearly and thematically organized sections covering the continuing importance of the Middle East, the background, fundamental concerns, the states and the crucial issues related to the area original maps integrated into the text, placing international issues and conflicts in their geographical contexts case studies and detailed analysis of each country, complete with relevant statistics and key facts coverage of fundamental considerations such as: water shortage the petroleum industry conflicts and boundary issues a comprehensive further reading section, enabling students to cover the topic in more depth.

Contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced entries on national leaders, non-governmental organizations, policy initiatives, and armed conflicts, as well as entries on such topics as intelligence, immigration, and weapons of mass destruction. (Second edition [2016] available as an eBook.)

Because of its porous frontiers, its accommodating soil and climate, its diverse inhabitants, and its many cultures, Iraq's history over the millennia has been one of interaction, adaptation, acculturation, and modification. Even though a history of Iraq would have to include the rulers and tyrants that have made their mark on the country over the ages, this new volume focuses primarily on the societies, peoples, and cultures of Iraq, as well as the regional influences that helped shape the destiny of the ethnicities, religions, sects, and national groups in this country. These influences have played a major role in shaping the modern nation, and they provide the context needed to understand the current conflict and efforts to build a stable society and government.

The Torture Papers document the so-called 'torture memos' and reports which US government officials wrote to prepare the way for, and to document, coercive interrogation and torture in Afghanistan, Guantanamo, and Abu Ghraib. These documents present for the first time a compilation of materials that prior to publication have existed only piecemeal in the public domain. The memos and reports document the systematic attempt of the US Government to prepare the way for torture techniques and coercive interrogation practices, forbidden under international law, with the express intent of evading legal punishment in the aftermath of any discovery of these practices and policies. (Also available as an eBook.)

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians, Revised Edition is the definitive source for readers who want an accurate account of these people and their long history. (Also available as an eBook.)

Entries in this 2-volume encyclopedia span the period from ancient Egypt to the modern era. Key theoreticians of Jew-hatred and their written works, its permeation of Christianity and modern Islam, and its political, artistic, and economic manifestations are covered. 650 A-Z entries by over 200 scholars from 21 countries, Illustrations such as caricatures, political cartoons, maps, and pictures of famous antisemites, and historical episodes Citations of recent literature that follow each entry Detailed index listing people, places, concepts, and events that enables users to find information about subjects not treated in dedicated articles Direction at the end of each entry to other articles with special relevance to the topic