- Birds of North America This link opens in a new windowBirds of North America (BNA) is the most comprehensive reference for the life histories of over 760 bird species that breed in the United States and Canada.
- eBird Citizen Science"By maximizing the utility and accessibility of bird observations made each year by recreational and professional bird watchers, eBird is amassing one of the largest and fastest growing biodiversity data resources in existence."
- Plants National DatabaseThe PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- Scitable: a collaborative learning space for science This link opens in a new windowArchive of defunct (as of 2016) learning community with "topic rooms" in genetics, cell biology, scientific communication and career planning. Read archived articles, blog posts, etc.
- Encyclopedia of LifeGlobal access to knowledge about life on Earth
- Pew Research Center: Science"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
- A dictionary of animal behaviourCall Number: eBook (select title to view online)Publication Date: 2006
- A dictionary of plant sciencesCall Number: eBook (select title to view online)Publication Date: 2012
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology byCall Number: eBook (select title to view online)Publication Date: 2000
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by Call Number: eBook (select title to view online)Publication Date: 2007- Encyclopedia of cell biology research byCall Number: eBook (select title to view online)Publication Date: 2011
Connect with a Librarian or Tutorial
Averett Librarians will help you:
- find reliable information for assignments
- develop database search strategies
- evaluate and cite your sources
During fall and spring semesters a librarian is available until 8 P.M., Monday - Thursday, and 4:30 P.M. Fridays.
Email aclib@averett.edu anytime. Visit during library hours, or call 434-791-5690 or 800-543-9440.
How the Zebra Got Its Stripes by Call Number: QL 336 .G73 2017
Life at the Edge of Sight by Call Number: QR 54 .C45 2017
Mushrooms of the Southeast by Call Number: QK 605 .E45 2018
The Nature and Potential of Life by Call Number: QH 331 .S74 2017
On the Wing by Call Number: QP 310 .F5 A543 2015
The Rise of Yeast by Call Number: QR 151 .M73 2018
What Have Plants Ever Done for Us? by Call Number: QK 98.4. A1 H373 2015Publication Date: 2016-02-15
