Growth Mindset
The Purpose of Site
This site is a warehouse of information for faculty teaching courses with a Growth Mindset component. All faculty should peruse this site before attempting to teach a course with a Growth Mindset. After reading through the information on the site, faculty training will be provided. Some faculty may want to discuss teaching with this added component with other faculty presently teaching Growth Mindset. This site is password protected and should not be shared with anyone outside of Averett University faculty and staff.
- Video 1: Growth Mindset v. Fixed MindsetThis video compares a "fixed" mindset with a "Growth Mindset."
- Video 2: The Power of Belief TED TALKThis video discusses the intersection of the power of belief (mindset) and success.
- Video 3: Carol Dweck Growth Mindset TED TalkThis video discusses the intersection of the power of belief (mindset) and success.
- Video 4: After Watching This Video, Your Brain Will Not Be the SameThis video explains neuroplasticity and implications for health and well-being as well as learning.
- Video 5: A Study on Paise and MindsetsThis video explains Carol Dweck's research of elementary students when praise is given in different methodologies.
- Video 6: Teaching a Growth Mindset: Unleashing the Learning MachineThis video provides an introduction to Growth Mindset concepts and its implication for learning and development.
- Video 7: What Is Belonging?This video describes how a sense of belonging contributes to students learning and academic success.
- Video 8: How to Tearch Growth Mindset in 5 Easy StepsThis video explains Growth Mindset with emphasis on brain plasticity.
- Video 9: Redos, Retakes, and Do-overs, Part 1This video discusses the issue of academic work that is allowed to be redone or attempted multiple times by students.
- Video 10: MindsetKit: Give Tasks That Promote Struggle and GrowthThis video provides instruction examples for comparing open tasks to closed tasks in the classroom, and how one promotes more learning and understanding.
- Video 11: Helping Students VideDevelop a Growth Mindset for Academic SuccessThis video is a webinar for that suggest pedagogical changes in how instructors teach. In this approach, students will understanding that learning is a process and results from effort and seeking help can also contribute to students’ academic success.
Articles & Discussion
- Why People Are Afraid of MathWeb Blog article describing students' fear of math.
- Shifting Mindsets Cut Suspensions in HalfWeb Blog article describing how mindsets can affect suspensions.
- Put Me In Coach! Growth Mindset In the World of SportsWeb Blog article describing how growth mindset can apply to sports.
- GrowthJournal article by Carol Dweck describing the intersection of growth and a academic achievement.
- Growth Mindset Intervention at the Community College Level: A Multiple Methods Examination of the Effects on Faculty and StudentsDissertation describing a study of short-term effect of a growth mindset intervention on basic skills for English faculty and students at 2 community colleges.
- Thriving in Collegiate Life: Can Fostering Growth Mindset Move Undergraduate Students from Surviving to ThrivingDissertation examines the impact of growth mindset workshops on undergraduate students’ knowledge and perceptions of their abilities to thrive.
- Students' Response to Academic Failure: Growth Mindset as a Buffer Against DemotivationJournal article based on a study that tests a model measuring students' beliefs about their ability and how that contributes to their response to academic setbacks.
- Mindset Interventions Are a Scalable Treatment for Academic UnderachievementJournal article investigates whether growth mindset interventions can be applied to large populations of students to combat academic underachievement.
- Thinking Beyond the Myths and Misconceptions of Talent: Creating Music Education Policy That Advances Music's Essential Contribution to Twentieth Century Teaching and LearningJournal article provides evidence for changes in music education policy and promotes innovative teaching based on the understanding that growth should be the primary driver for access and success instead of talent.
- Exploring Teacher Effects for Mindset Intervention Outcomes in Seventh Grade Science ClassesJournal article examines whether teacher-related variation in the classroom, using the Brainology program, enhances young adolescents’ motivation for science. This intervention is designed to impact seventh graders’ beliefs about the nature of ability in science as fixed or malleable.
- Pre-service Teachers' Mindset Beliefs About Student AbilityJournal article examining pre-service teachers' mindset during and after teaching experience and it applicability to student learning.
- Teachers Mindsets for Students With and Without DisabilitiesJournal article examines teachers' mindsets toward students with and without disabilities.
- The Perils of Promise and PraiseJournal article discusses appropriate use of praise to create motivated and resilient learners.
- Using Praise to Enhance Students Resilience and Learning OutcomesWeb site article suggesting appropriate strategy to praise students to maximize resiliency.
- How Praise Became a Consolation Prize: Helping Children Confront Challenges Requires a More Nuanced Understanding of th "Growth Mindset."Web article by Carol Dweck discussing misunderstanding of the Growth Mindset.
- Carol Dweck Revisits the Growth MindsetMagazine article describing the meaning of Growth Mindset.
- Implicit Theories of Intelligence Predict Achievement Across An Adolescent Transition: A Longitutinal Study and InterventionJournal article based on a study investigating whether students' implicit theories about intelligence effect their mathematical achievement.
- Nurturing Resilience in Early Adolescence: A Tool for Future SuccessJournal article describing a program for promoting resilience for adolescents, a multisystemic approach based on the interpersonal theory of Harry Stack Sullivan (1953), designed to empower adolescents
- Grading to Learn: An Analysis of the Importance and Application of Specifications of Grading in a Communications CourseThis journal article explores the concept of specifications grading as one option for developing a learning- centered communication class. Specifications grading removes the emphasis on assigning a letter grade or point value and instead requires students to reach a certain level of performance for an assignment.
- EDUtopia Growth Mindset TopicsWeb site provides support students in believing that they can develop their talents and abilities through hard work, good strategies, and help from others.
- EDUtopia Resources for Teaching Growth MindsetWeb site that provides information about growth mindset, discover how learning mindsets can affect student performance, and explore strategies that support student confidence.
- Mindset Works ResourcesThis web site provides a collection of resources & materials to support the educational approach of developing a growth mindset.
- Resources for Educators From Transforming EducationWeb site that focuses on developing educational tools to improve student outcomes. Education specialists use MESH concept (Mindsets, Essential Skills, and Habits)which refers to the subset of intrapersonal and interpersonal mindsets and competencies that have shown to be: meaningful, measurable and malleable. Examples of MESH include self-management, growth mindset, and social competence.
Reports
- Mindsets and Math/Science AchievementThis report discusses results of Carol Dweck's research as it applies to mindsets and Math/Science Achievement.
- Video On Progress PraiseThis video demonstrates how to praise process in a classroom
Instructional Aids
- Activity Classroom DiscussionThis document lists suggestions for discussion about why mistakes are an integral process in learning.
- Autopsy of the QuizThis worksheet dissects a student's strategy for preparing for a quiz.
- Checklist of Growth Mindset Teaching PracticesThis is a list of Growth Mindset best practices.
- Diagnostic Feedback Without a GradeThis document summarizes an assessment strategy for assignments without a grade.
- Effective Effort RubricThis rubric demonstrates the difference between a fixed mindset, a mixed mindset, and a growth mindset.
- Effective Effort Rubric: BrainologyThis document assess the learning process as it intersects with effort.
- Effective Effort Rubric for Study UnitsThis rubric evaluates a student's completion of a subject/topic unit.
- GRIT RubricThis rubric assess a student's academic integrity and resilience.
- GRIT Rubric (Student Version)This is another rubric assessing a student's resiliency and level of engagement with academics.
- Growth Mindset Presentation ScriptThis document is a script to accompany the Growth Mindset Presentation by PERTS slideshow for introducing growth mindset research to educators
- Growth Mindset Feedback ToolThis Mindset Works web site document provides strategies for teachers to use for framing language that motivates students.
- Habits of MindThis document is a graphical representation on how the brain works for learning and understanding.
- Growth Mindset Presentation by PERTSThis Power Point presentation demonstrates teaching Growth Mindset can impact academic success.
- Introducation To Growth Mindset For StudentsThis Power Point presentation provides a quick overview of different mindsets that are applied to success.
- Autopsy of The QuizThis checklist provides students a method to evaluate how they prepared for a quiz.
- Growth Mindset Lesson PlanThis document from PERTS web site provides a lesson plan for teaching about Growth Mindset.
Assessment
- Autopsy of the QuizThis checklist provides students a method to evaluate how they prepared for a quiz.
- Assessment Paper for a Growth MindsetThis article discusses alternatives for assessing learning from simply devising tests & quizzes.
- Growth Mindset QuizThis short quiz will evaluate your students' understanding of growth mindset.
- Growth Mindset QuizThis is a PDF version of the Growth Mindset Quiz.
Assignments & Activities
Assessment
- Growth Mindset in The Classroom TrainingRequired presentation for instructors to view to complete training for teaching a course with a Growth Mindset.
Growth Mindset Committee
Pam McKirdy
QEP Coordinator (434) 791-5618
Send questions to: mindset@averett.edu