MLA Style Guides
MLA Handbook Ninth Edition by Call Number: Ref LB 2369 .M52 2021Publication Date: 2021The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works cited list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works cited list entries, illustrations, and an index.
MLA Examples
Book (one author)
Babbie, Earl J. The Sociological Spirit: Critical Essays in Critical Sciences.
Wadsworth, 2003.
Book (two authors)
Heilbrun, James, and Charles M. Gray. The Economics of Art. 2nd ed.,
Cambridge UP, 2001.
Book (three or more authors)
Wysong, Earl, et al. The New Class Society: Goodbye American Dream. 4th ed.,
Rowman and Littlefield, 2014.
Edited Book (anthology, etc.)
Boyle, Brenda M., editor. The Vietnam War: Topics in Contemporary North American
Literature. Bloomsbury Academic, 2015.
Book Chapter
Harris, Muriel. "Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers." A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writings
One to One. Edited by Ben Rafoth, Heinemann, 2000. pp. 24-34.
Book Published Before 1900
Dickens, Charles. Barnaby Rudge. New York, 1885.
Encyclopedia or Dictionary
Sadie, Stanley, editor. "Time Signature." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 6th ed., vol. 18,
Macmillan, 1980.
Work in an Anthology
More, Hannah. "The Black Slave Trade: A Poem." British Women Poets of the Romantic Era.
Edited by Paula R. Feldman, Johns Hopkins UP, 1997, pp. 472-82.
Journal Article (print)
Owens, Thomas. "Coleridge's Parentheses and the Question of Editing Its Head." Essays in Criticism,
vol. 44, no. 4, 2014, pp. 373-93.
Journal Article (online database with no DOI)
Gozonsky, Mark. "Emily Dickinson Thinks She Looks Like a Kangaroo." Literary Review:
An International Journal of Contemporary Writing, vol. 56, no. 2, 2011, pp. 9-11.
Ebsco, www.ebsco.com/academicsearchcomplete/333666.
Journal Article (online with three or more authors; with DOI)
Wooley, Martin E., et al. "Mathematics Success of Black Middle School Students:
Direct and Indirect Effects of Teacher Expectations and Reform Practices."
Negro Educational Review, vol 61, no. 1-4, 2010, pp. 41-59. Gale Literature Resource Center,
https://doi.org/00020034185DTR.44.
Magazine Article
Munier, Paula. "Structuring Your Story: The Hero's Journey." Writer's Digest, Feb. 2015, pp. 52-55.
Daily Newspaper Article (print)
Schwartz, Lena. "Obesity Affects Economic, Social Status." The Washington Post, 30 Feb. 1993, p. A1+.
Daily Newspaper (online database)
Krugman, Paul. "Wall Street Vampires." The New York Times,
11 May 2015, p. A15. Lexis Nexis, www.lexisnexis.com/search/article/0004446666HT.
Review
Hardy, Kevin. "Praising Works on the Environment." Rev. of The End of Plenty: The Race
to Feed a Crowded World, by Joel K. Bourne. Publishers Weekly, 1 May 2015, p. 33.
Published Dissertation
Laub, Martin. "Love's Violence in Shakespeare." PhD dissertation, Loyola U of Chicago,
1989. Proquest Dissertations & Theses Online Global. pp.1-146. https://do.org/:10.444/56789123457.